Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Warning, this is going to be a long story.

Hi, my name is Jacky and I'm totally new to the world of fish ownership. I work in a restaurant and we recently catered a wedding reception. When the groom showed up with the decorations, he gave us a shopping bag full of bettas to use as centerpieces. (He even gave us sand from the BEACH to put in the bowls with them. Thankfully my coworkers and I aren't that stupid.) Somehow the bride and groom thought enough of their guests would want the them that they wouldn't have to worry about the future of these 20 or so fish. Wrong! Many of their guests flew into town and couldn't take the fish even if they wanted to. So the waitstaff was left with a choice, adopt them or take the chance that they would be flushed. We were able to find them all homes, although I can't speak for the quality of those homes.

I named mine Tesla (after Nikola Tesla) and I was bound and determined to give this guy the best life possible. This is made a bit more difficult by the fact that the only pet store within a reasonable distance from my house is Petsmart. Naturally, I was told things like, "Oh, bettas love small tanks. Here, this half gallon tank over here is perfect for bettas! You don't need a heater, they're very low maintenance. Cycling? No, you don't have to worry about that!" But I knew better.