Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I'm new to fish keeping and to bettas untill I fell in love with this betta who I named Flint.

When I got him he had a black head that moved to a blue body that went to a red tail but a black tip. Over the first few weeks he remained bright. However about a week to two ago I noticed his tail was going clear very fast.

First photo I took 28th January 2020 just a week before I noticed colour change.

Second photo I took the other day (5th February 2020) he has grown a lot in size since I got him.

3rd photo is day I got him (12th January 2020) I don't know if you can tell but he has like doubled in size especially in his tail. Which is better seen where he flares but no photo of that sorry.

I do very regular water tests. My ammonia has been between 0.1 to max 0.25, nitrite 0 and nitrate 0.

I have discovered I was way over feeding him so have dropped that down to normal feed amount now.

I was also really struggling with my water temperature due to summer heat at the moment and spent probably close to 2 weeks trying to figure out how to cool it which I have just achieved 2 days OK with a more more wholed lid and small fan onto water. My tank which is 27litres (7.1 gallons) temperature was ranging from 27 degrees celcius (80.6 degrees fahrenheit) in the morning to 29 degrees celsius (84.2 degrees fahrenheit) when I got home from work. It now stays between 26 and 27 degrees celsius which I'm a lot happier with.

Flint is very active and always keen on food. He will flare at what I can only assume is his own reflection sometimes. He loves swimming amongst the live plants I have in there. But he's pretty much lost all his red from his tail.

Does anyone have any ideas. Is he stressed? Did I over feed him? Was the hot temperature getting to him? Is he sick? Is it due to growth? I don't just don't know and I don't want to loss him.