Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! Name's Amy. I'm a beginner and I just brought home my first betta fish yesterday only to find him pacing the glass of his tank for hours today. I cycled my tank for weeks beforehand and tested the water regularly so I don't know what could be causing his stress! I have a bunch of plants for him to enjoy, and a decent low current filter.

As of now this is the only sign that he's stressed, but I'd rather catch an issue too early than too late. I hope it's just a case of him being scared of the big person constantly fussing over him and not something more serious.

I filled out the questionnaire below. Please help!

Housing:
How many gallons is your tank? 10
Does it have a filter? Yes!
Does it have a heater? Yes!
What temperature is your tank? 78°F
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? No.
Does your Betta have tank mates? What kind? None.

Food:
What food brand do you use? Bug Bites tropical formula for small fish.
Do you feed flakes or pellets? They're crumbles so closer to flakes.
Freeze-dried? No.
How often do you feed your Betta? How much? I fed him once last night at 10 P.M. and once this morning at 10 A.M.

Maintenance:
Before
your Betta became ill how often did you perform a water change? I just got him yesterday but I cycled my tank and did a water change just before acclimating him just in case.
What percentage of water did you change? 50% roughly, before I put him in. That was the last change I did.
What is the source of your water? Reverse Osmosis water in gallon containers.
Do you vacuum the substrate or just dip out water? I vaccum.
What additives do you use other than conditioner? What brand of conditioner? I use Aquasafe for the small amount of tap water I add, other than that I just use flourish fertilizer for my plants.

Water Parameters: