Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, Betta Friends!
I am unreasonably cheery today- and here's why! I am finally upgrading my little guy from a dorm-required 1 gallon to a much better 5.5 gallon. I also have a mystery snail in another temporary tank. Both of them will be together in my new tank (and i would love to eventually add more friends, but i dont want to rush). So, here is my long list of questions!

Cycling- I have read tons of conflicting information on cycling my new aquarium. I've read that its not necessary for a 5.5 gallon, but I would like to create the best possible environment for my little friends. So, that being said, what is the best/safest/quickest way to the cycle in place? (note: I am a college student on a college budget- so I would like to avoid expensive testing equipment if possible- though my LFS does free water sample tests)
On a similar note, I mentioned i have a snail. Should I put her in the tank before my fish, so her waste will help to accelerate the cycle? Will adding the water from her current tank help at all? Also- I have several live plants, and several more bulbs to add. When should I add these?

Even more questions- terribly sorry for the length of this post- I have plenty of natural stones in my backyard, and I have read that slate is aquarium safe. Is this true? And, are there any other things that I could find in my backyard that would make safe aquarium decorations? I love the look of a natural fish habitat. Finally, I came across some old aquarium decor from when I was a kid. How can I safely sanitize it to add it to the new tank?

Can't wait to hear some feedback and suggestions, Thank You!!

·
Registered
401 Posts