Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, i'm Sara! I'm 21 years old and currently a college student. Keeping fish is one of my newest hobbies (or addictions lol). My boyfriend and I have been into saltwater fish for over a year now (we have a 75 gal, 14 gal, and 29 gal) but i'm new to betta fish.

I was contemplating getting a betta fish for a while, but never took the plunge. About a week ago my friend called me up and asked if I'd come and help her pick out a betta fish. I figured why not, right? We went to both Petco and Petsmart to check out her options (They were only a block away from each other, thank god). They both had a bunch of beautiful fish, and she had a hard time deciding. When we went over to Petsmart, they had two beautiful elephant ear bettas on sale (Their water was pretty cloudy too, poor boys). I fell in love with the one guy so much, that I decided to buy him, while my friend took the other one! I bought him a nice 1.2 gallon tank with a filter, a fake plant and a peace lily. Only a few days of keeping him, I realized the tank is kinda small. So I splurged a bit and got him a 5.5 gallon tank and two more plants! I plan on adding a moss ball and maybe a terracotta pot to the tank tomorrow. I'm thinking about adding maybe a mystery snail to the tank eventually too, but i'm not too sure yet. He is such a sweetheart and is packed with personality. I'm in love!

So without further adieu! Here he is! (Still doesn't have a name, maybe you guys can help?)

(BTW he does have a hood on his tank, i just moved him when I took this picture)

He really loves this plant! He's always sleeping in it!

If you guys have any suggestions or advice, please let me know! I want him to have the best life possible with me! :)

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks! He is quite the looker! He really loves that plant!