Betta Fish Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to caring for a betta i have a vtail betta i have a small 2 gallon aqueon tank with 2 plastic plantes and 2 cory catfish in it i no its small but gonna get a bigger tank in a couple of weeks.if any one has any help r suggestions on water treatment r feeding pease feel free to let me no thank u

·
Registered
37 Posts
Well first of all yeah that's way too small for a betta and two catfish. It should really be just the betta there. In the meantime do a lot of water changes. Make sure you have water conditioner to make the water safe for your fish.

I don't know much about catfish feeding but I do know that betta fish have tiny stomachs (the size of their eyes) so you can't overfeed. I feed mine two pellets (I use Omega One Betta Buffet) twice a day, with a day of fasting once per week. You might even want to feed less than that if your fish is tiny.

I recommend researching betta and catfish care thoroughly. Taking care of fish isn't as easy as it looks and you will be spending a lot of money buying equipment and supplies.

Also I don't know how well bettas get along with catfish, so you might want to look into that. You can keep the betta in the two gallon (providing you maintain it carefully) and move the catfish to a bigger tank. If you do decide to keep the betta in the two gallon, get a heater, a small filter (or change the water very frequently), a freshwater test kit (the API one is great) and a thermometer. It's recommended to keep bettas in nothing smaller than 2.5 gal but a 2 gal can be done if you manage it carefully.