Betta Fish Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello, I read the sticky on fish care, and I didn't quite find my answer. I am brand new to owning a betta, and I too fell into the trap of thinking it would be a simple fish to take care of, but as soon as I got home and started my research I realized that there was a lot more to betta care then I had imagined! I just got my baby skittles 2 days ago. I bought a 2.5 gallon tank and 2 betta friendly fake plants, and betta pellets and water purifier droplets. I set him up in the tank but realized that his water was colder than room temperature and he didn't have many places to hide, so yesterday I bought him a little filter and another bigger plant, as well as a little cave to hide in. I tested the plant and cave to make sure it was soft enough for him and took him out with his water to put in his new decorations. Last night he seemed fine and was doing great, swimming around peacefully and exploring tail out and beautiful.
This morning when I woke up he was sleeping beside the heater and he seemed okay, just sleepy and I fed him 2 pellets and he ate them no problem, but all morning he seems to be acting different than yesterday and the first day I had him. He is swimming around a lot more frantically, and his tail doesn't seem to be as widely spead. He also stops for long periods of time by the surface unmoving and I worry that he is sick or unhappy or something happened when I put in the new elements yesterday. I feel like I got him to relieve stress but I have done nothing but worry about him since I brought him home. Can someone please help me? Is anything wrong with skittles? Am I bothering him too much? What can I do?

·
Premium Member
22,700 Posts
Hi there!

Can you provide any pictures of him? There might be something going on that's bothering him.