Betta Fish Forum banner

Newbie with Questions!

2K views 27 replies 6 participants last post by  VivianKJean 
1. It really depends on their personality. I take the lid off my tank when I'm home because my betta, Arrow, doesn't jump. I even tried training him to jump for food but nope. He refuses to jump. I keep the lid on when I'm not around/sleeping just in case he ever changes his mind and decides to jump. I'd definitely get a lid/hood because it's better to be safe than sorry.

2. I have no experience with automatic heaters but invest in a thermometer so you can keep an eye on the temp. If you see that the heater's not working properly, I'd recommend getting an adjustable one. Also, a lid will help trap the heat and moisture in your tank so that's another plus for getting one.

3. What brand is it? Most people recommend Omega One, New Life Spectrum, and Hikari Bio-Gold because they have a high amount of protein in them. Feed her twice a day (morning and evening) two pellets each. If she's more active you can maybe increase it to 3 in the morning. Also, you should fast her once a week to prevent constipation (don't worry she won't starve).

4. Oldfishlady recommends a 50% weekly water change for 5-9gal with a filter. Without a filter, try 1-50% and and maaaaybe a 1-25% (I don't think it'll be necessary though) weekly. Believe it or not but the bigger the tank, the less water changes you have to do. This is due to the fact that small tanks build up ammonia and nitrites levels more quickly than larger ones. One betta in a 10-gallon will not make enough waste for the water change schedule you have in mind.