Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,028 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all~
I purchased Luc, a white’pearl colored and grey marble halfmoon betta from a reliable and trusted LFS a while back. He lives in a heated, filtered 3.5 gallon tank with sand and a few live plants. He has AQ salt in his tank all the time and I dose with stresscoat. Lately he’s been more and more listless. His fins have been becoming clamped and taking on a pinkish color. My brother and I clean his tank once a week and do a 50% water change. What are we doing wrong? I've been keeping bettas for about two years and have no idea why he’s becoming so lethargic and sad. Luc is normally a feisty, energetic boy, only about 6 months old. Is the salt affecting him? We’ll be getting a new tank for him (5.5 or a 10 gallon) soon. I think the curved front may be stressing him out, but that doesn't explain the fins and behavior. Does any one have any ideas? My brother really loves this fish and I don’t want to lose him early.
Thank you for any help.

Stats:
Tank size: Top fin aquascene-180-3.5-gallon aquarium.
Filter: Tetra whisper 3i (Not loving it, temporary)
Heated: yes, probably around 75.
Sub/Live plants: Duckweed sand sub. He also has a bridge to sleep under and a large floating plant to rest on with a few others plastic ones to hide about.
Tank mates: None.

Symptoms: Slowly becoming more and more listless, clamped fins/reddening.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
19,173 Posts
Can you fill out the sticky: "Please Read Before Posting..."? It's much easier to reference the form that to read a wall of text. If his tank's at 75 that's too cold; Betta should be kept at 78-80 degrees. BTW, love his color!

·
Registered
1,749 Posts
He looks bloated. Are his scales starting to stick out at all? Also, his gills look a bit red... have you tested the ammonia in the tank?

·
Registered
1,028 Posts
Discussion Starter #4