Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
405 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
What are some good ideas for betta fish toys they'd love to play with that are absolutely harmless and non toxic for betta fish?

(I've tried searching this topic before and on youtube, it's a little difficult to find).

It'll be nice to include some ideas that are great for low income people too, not only myself. I plan on buying real plants and drift wood in the future- they're very hard to find locally so for now i'm wondering what I can do in the mean time.

I do prefer using real materials and I have aquarium sealant I can stick things together with. =) I'm an artist too, so anything that is perfectly non toxic will work for me (you can be creative, just check to be sure it's fine).

I have...

*stones outside (I want to know if these are safe, if they are would a 1:9 vinegar wash be acceptable? Should I detoxify them in water if so?)

*fake stones I glued together to form an open dragon's mouth I plan on working on to attach a body it can swim through*

*driftwood outside and beaches- the only problem is I keep doubting that letting it sit in water to detoxify it wont clean it fully or completely. I'm scared to do so.

*around the house stuff.

What chemicals should the items say on it for it to be safe?
*Is resin good? Any ideas on anything else? thank you, I like any and all ideas on this topic :) And your input helps!!

·
Registered
4,899 Posts
Driftwood is debatable.. Some people say yay some nay.
I think baking driftwood at 400F for half an hour-an hour.. And then soaking it. Baking should kill any bacteria on the wood.. Some say boiling to remove tannins faster if you can manage that. Also I'd make sure there is no bark on the driftwood, bark can contain more tannins.. Driftwood is crazy expensive in stores.

·
Registered
4,666 Posts