Betta Fish Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to bettas and when I first got my boy he was the the blue in my avatar. Well he is still blue but his head and front half of his body has darkened up A LOT like his head is almost black and then its kind of a gradient from there.

Is it normal for Bettas to change color? Should I be concerned? Is he just maturing? The board seemed to think he was fairly young...

Help? lol

·
Registered
3,848 Posts
It's fairly common for them to change color - especially if you just got him. In the petshop they are stressed out and cold but once they get into a nice warm tank most usually color up. I had one girl i picked because she had no color and was still very young. I kept her in her cup on my dresser while i tried to figure out where to put her and when i went to put her in a tank like 20 minutes later she was blood red in color :shock:.

There is also something called the marble gene which causes bettas to literally change color. Normally its white bettas that get darker but dark bettas can also turn lighter

Is your guy acting normal - still eating and isn't lethargic? he is probably just happy but keep an eye on him just in case

·
Registered
675 Posts
Very true....I've read many stories on this site alone about bettas drastically changing color. One of my bettas turned from a pale white/skin color to a dark blue butterfly Delta Tail...also changed from a female plakat to a male DeT....the marble gene sometimes will drastically change color.

It sounds like your boy is darkening due to maturity....they reach sexual maturity long before they are full grown...a very common blue is what you are describing with the nearly black head and dark blue the rest of body...too bad because I really like the blue of your avatar!

·
Registered
201 Posts