Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So...

I am really tired of the artificial plant look in my Fluval Chi--not that silk plants aren't nice. I just want that natural, beautiful ecosystem of natural plants. But...I have been told by my local fish supplier that I will never be able to get live plants to grow in my Chi because of the LED lights. But, I thought I would come here and ask my fellow betta lovers if it might be possible with the current light set-up? Or, will I have to remove that--thus removing the entire filtration system, and having to get a different filter--and opt for a different lighting source? And, if so, what type of plants would be a good option? I am a beginner to naturally planted, and have a black thumb. I would greatly appreciate any feedback/comments/suggestions!

Thanks,
RedFynn21

·
Registered
7,816 Posts
I don't think the LEDs would be enough to support the plant growth necessary to keep the level of nutrients from the soil safe. The only way I can see it working is if you have the tank in a very well lit place and get decent amounts of sun.

I have the chi and I replaced the filter for an aquaclear HOB. It's so much nicer. I know it ruins the whole effect of the tank but after a year of running the block just looked gross with all the hard water build up and getting it off was easy but never 100%. I am yet to plant it but that is on the agenda, as soon as I find a light or lamp that I like.

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the input! Honestly, I really just liked the shape of the tank, the filter isn't a make it or break it for me. Just wasn't sure what filter would be a good option. The block on mine isn't looking too fantastic, either.

·
Registered
399 Posts