Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Outback Aquarium Adventures
by EmberShadows

Foreword: For those who are perhaps unfamiliar with the term, “Outback” refers to the remote and sparsely populated inland regions of Australia. I’ve encountered a few people from other countries who had no idea what it actually meant.

G’day my fellow betta enthusiasts. I’m EmberShadows and this is my journal of aquarium adventures.

I’m an aquarium hobbyist living in a small town in a remote part of Australia. It’s hot, dry and pretty much in the middle of no where out here. My local fish store is located in the next town over, and carries a fairly limited selection. I try to support my local store, but I have to purchase most of my supplies online.

Growing up, there have always been fish in my household, and I’ve dabbled with it from time to time. In the last few years my fishkeeping passion has become reignited. I’ve had a few tragedies so far, but I'll own my failures, learn from my mistakes and keep battling on.

After losing my last boy, I’ve started over from scratch. New tank, new equipment and supplies.

I acquired a second-hand 25 Litre / 6 Gallon tank that I’ve been eagerly preparing for the last few months. Planning for a planted, naturally decorated tank to house a single betta.

Visual Concept for Tank.

Setting up the hardscape with Pisces Black Diamond Aquarium Gravel and locally source rock.

I have no idea what kind of rock it is, but I’ve run it through every test suggested by the internet and couldn’t find any problems. I’ll have to keep an eye on it as the tank ages, but I’m not anticipating any issues. It has beautiful colour and patterns though, and is quite stunning against the dark substrate.

Progress with tank setup.