Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! This is my first time at trying a live plant betta tank and I was wondering if I could get a little advice. I have a couple anubias ferns, an unknown plant (I forgot what it was), marimo balls, and more recently a water sprite. As of last water change, the water sprite is browning, one marimo ball fell apart, the unknown plant is yellow, the ferns each lost a leaf, and algae is blooming at a faster rate than usual despite regular cleaning. So I'd like some help perking these guys up and not hurting my betta friend.

For some background on the tank: it started off with no fish and just the anubias and unknown plant for over a year. The anubias showed no growth (actually was struggling the first month or so to survive) and the unknown plant was absolutely thriving and taking over the decoration I set it on in the tank. Then my apartment complex had a month long power outage in October where the anubias thrived and the unknown plant turned yellow. It hasn't recovered since and has kept the yellow coloring. I also added marimo to the tank.

In December I got my betta, but noticed he was tail biting a lot so I tried to solve the problem with more coverage. Added some silk plants which seemed to do the trick which got me thinking about replacing the silk plants with live ones. I read that water sprites were very hardy and beginner friendly so I got them. They've been in the tank for about 3 weeks now and at first they were a bright green but now I'm noticing a yellow tint and rapid browning/rotting? Which is a shame because he loves swimming through it and sleeping there. Also there's suddenly been a huge algae bloom where I can run a paper towel across a decoration and it all comes back green.