Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,611 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
and how old are you, and how anvanced would you say you are?

I am 14, I know more than a beginner, but im no expert. I have been fish-keeping for almost.. hmm i started with a goldfish at the end of last school year, and he died in 3 days, then i got my first betta in july, so thats.. 9 months!

I have 3 tanks, and 10 fish, a snail, and 4 shrimp, all very healthy! so its not the time youve spent on it, but how much you have learned :D i am a quick learner :p plus my mom was a marine biologist.. well she studied in college and failed and became a doctor, but.. i guess that helped :p

·
Registered
4,666 Posts
Im 12. Been keeping fish since I was 11, so probably a year and a half. I would say I'm not a beginner yet, I'm no expert either, I'm way too far from being an expert, maybe slightly past beginner?

I have 14 tanks in all. 1 12 gallon with multiple fancy guppies, 1 14 gallon with platies, 1 16 gallon with kuhlis, neons, pygmies and a sparkling gourami, 3 5 gallons with 1 male Betta in each, 6 jars with other brine Shrimp or a small scale colony of different types of snails, 1 1 gallon temporary, and a 10 gallon with a very small scale breeding colony of wild strain guppies and a male Betta

·
Registered
318 Posts
Do you mean consecutive years? Because I started keeping fish as a child in elementary school, I think I was about 8 when my parents brought home guppies and we kept them in a large wine-making bottle. After a few months they bought a 15 gal tank which we had for about 10 years (then they got a 40 gal hex). It was kept as a community tank. I was the one "elected" by default to do all the water schlepping and algae scraping and sick fish diagnosing/treating. In the meantime when I was about 10 I got a 10 gal tank of my own in which I kept fancy goldfish.