Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Betta fish community!! I am very new to owning a beautiful betta and just got my little guy yesterday. He is in a 1.5 Gal tetra cube tank with a whisper filter. He has a little bit of fin rot so I'm going to do water changes every other day because it is a mild case. (what I was told to do by you lovely members) <3

I woke up this morning to see that the water is a tad milky looking, almost like someone poured a couple drops of milk in the water. Sushi (my betta) is fine and flaring about and it doesn't seem to bother him. I looked this up and I'm pretty sure it is bacterial bloom. But I don't know what to do!

Is bacterial bloom safe? What do I do or buy to get rid of it? I am a poor college student so I have almost no money for a couple more weeks. :c I can't test the ph because I do not have a kit. Help me!! D:

·
Registered
1,066 Posts
Bacterial bloom is safe, don't worry. It usually happens when the tank is new or the substrate disturbed, and excess nutrients are released into the aquarium. When this happens, the bacteria population explodes exponentially and results in a cloudy or “milky” appearance, which is bacteria floating in the water.

Change the water, wait it out, and the bacteria bloom will disappear in a few days.

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So just change the water every couple days and it will eventually disappear? :eek:

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Ok. I've seen some people say that you don't put your fish in until the cycle is done. But I didn't think my tank would do that. I changed his water and it is already milky again.

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #6