Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am very new to the hobby and I am concerned to see what I think may be fin rot in my betta. Below are some pictures.

I'm not sure what information is relevant so I'm going to tell you everything I can think of and go from there.

My betta lives in a 10 gallon tank with two corydoras. I change about 25% of the water about once a week but when noticed my bettas fins looking ragged I did a much larger water change. As of yesterday, the ammonia is 0 ppm and in the last two months has remained low. My tank is cycled. It is kept at 79 degrees F. I have an air stone. All of my decorations are void of rough edges. I noticed his fins looking rough about two weeks ago and was told to use Seachem Paraguard. I followed the dosage instructions for two weeks. My betta's behavior has not changed. He is active, eating, and does not seem lethargic. He is not hiding.

My concern is that I haven't noticed any regrowth in his fins. I don't want to use medication for too long if it could harm him or the corys. Are there suggestions for something else I should use to treat him? I have a quarantine tank and I can run out today to look for different medicine or aquarium salt but I don't know much about how they work and I know that using it incorrectly could harm my fish.

Or, perhaps it's possible that this isn't fin rot and I'm going about this entirely the wrong way.

I would really appreciate any advice on the best way to treat my betta. I've had him for four months and I've never owned a fish before.

Thank you so much

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Housing:
How many gallons is your tank? 10
Does it have a filter? Yes
Does it have a heater? Yes
What temperature is your tank? 79 F
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? Yes
Does your Betta have tank mates? What kind? 2 Corydoras

Food:
What food brand do you use? Aqueon, Seachem