Betta Fish Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
On 9/14/18, I adopted 2 Halfmoon Bettas from Petsmart. Both have beautiful finnage from what I can tell and both flare very well! Stefan is Turquoise and Damon is what I believe to be a multicolor black lace, but correct me if I'm wrong! Do you think these guys would be able to get into a show? I'm trying to get a sideview of Damon flaring still but I did get Stefan Flaring so let me know what you guys think and is showing petstore fish allowed?

(keep in mind that I'm a noob at fish judging)
Judging Stefan: He seems to have clean conformation, full halfmoon, rays appear to branch into 4, long anal fin that it seems rounded, nice dorsal fin, long rounded ventral fins.

Judging Damon: Nice clean topline slope, pointed anal fin that blends with tail, dorsal fin doesn't look the best so it may still be growing, long rounded ventral fins.

Attachments

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Damon Flaring!

I finally managed to get a good video of Damon Flaring and I got some screenshots of that! He doesn't have as neat of fins as Stefan but I still think he's gorgeous.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
6,001 Posts
The çircles are immediate faults I see.
1. Ventrals must not branch
2. Fins must be smooth and neat. Folds are faulted
3. Fins must be equal lengths
4. Pundecle (end of body) must not tilt

Tbh, I don't know how severe each are faulted. And I'm not sure if rounded caudal edges are faulted (ideally should form a perfect "D")

sketch-1537374412333.jpg

I'll review the other guy in a minute

·
Super Moderator
6,001 Posts
Second guy;

Picture too dark and Can't see ventrals.
Body not too good - almost hunched back (not sure if its the angle or if he's actually like that)
Fin fold
Anal fin too long, and messy
Messy color - no balanced pattern