Betta Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I tried to post this the other day with no luck... so im gonna try one more time. Bitsey has been looking eggy for some time and the other day i noticed that she was HUGE! Then yesterday she was sluggish and inactive and isnt eating. her water stays at around 80 and she's housed with other females and some glass catfish.

Attachments

·
Registered
214 Posts
What happened in the second picture? She's scared stressed enough to show stripes(or looks like she is.. judging by the eye + stripes)
That isn't damage from the swelling.. Looks eggy to me and not Swollen :)
But that looks like either decoration dmg or more likely a nasty bite..

·
Registered
1,609 Posts
Can she see a male betta? She may be unable to release her eggs and be egg bound, or she could be very bloated. I am not an expert as I haven't had this problem, but posting if she has a male near could help someone else.

·
Registered
4,306 Posts
CT females scare me a bit. they're thinner in body shape, and look HUGE when they get eggy. she may very well be normal size, and just looks more bloated. x-x

i agree, though. try fasting her for a few days, see if she doesn't go down some.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
shes got white tissue like EXPLODING out of her body... i mean its litterally falling out of her and on to the gravel... i havent been feeding her... been quarentined and no there's not a male betta near by...

·
Registered
691 Posts
With how swollen it is, it's most likely internal parasites ;o Your poor baby! you can really see her skin ripping in the first pic...

·
Registered
1,610 Posts
looks liek it. try anti parasitics and dont feed. that will clog her up even more

EDIT feed, but like 1 pellet a day, or 1 every other day (dont worry they can handle it easily)