Betta Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
333 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so i cam home from work, and looked my my beautiful fry, and at how big they were getting.

went to work out for a few hours, come home and all my fry were dead.... i have no idea why but im really upset ><

any pointers on how to avoid this in the future? i didnt do anything to the water or tank today..

·
Registered
25 Posts
Sorry to hear about your baby fishies :(

I am not an expert..... a total noobie myself .. but some more information might help the others help us (also interesting for me to learn as much as possible). IE:

1) How old were the fry? Big spawn, small spawn?
2) What did you feed them?
3) Temp of Water?

etc.... ahahah not sure what else to ask... like i said me = noobie

·
Registered
1,033 Posts
Your fry should be around two week old.
It only take a few hour to for the whole spawn to die out from the last time you check.
You didn't do anything with the water.

Will is the temperature still the same as yesterday.
Is the tank cover
Any cold dirfty around the tank or inside

Anything out of the ordernary happen around the house

·
Registered
333 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
water temp is 82, has been constant since i introduced my pair 2 weeks ago,
tank is covered
i feed them a combo of vinegar eels and micro worms
didnt do a water change today, and the room has no cold drafts
it was a small spawn, only about 100 fry

·
Registered
1,033 Posts
Idk them
For that many fry wipe out in a couple of hour is strange

Even with sickness the fry won't just die out in a few hours

Wait up.
When did the egg hatch
If you only introduce your pair two week ago.
Your frys not two week old then

·
Registered
1,033 Posts
The tank suppose to be establish/cycle before you put the fish in.
Haven't try cycling when there already fry.
Breeding tank always get a cup of old tank water
Then clean water.
Let it sit for about two to three week.
With some plant and snail.