Betta Fish Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
988 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time having a betta in a community tank. It's a 20 gallon long, and will ultimately be heavily planted. The male betta I'll be adding has, according to his former owner, done well with other fish. The other inhabitants of the tank will be three platies, eight von rio tetras, and some assorted snails. My question is, should I add the betta before or after the other fish? I was planning to add the betta first, but I've seen a few people say that bettas should be added last, to decrease the chance that they'll attack the other fish. Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
23,872 Posts
I've never noticed it made any difference which came first.

If you float the fish before you add to the tank, float them in a darkened tank and after releasing wait a miniumum of 20 minutes to turn the lights on.

I've found keeping the lights off is much more important than the order in which fish are introduced..

·
Registered
64 Posts
I've never noticed it made any difference which came first.

If you float the fish before you add to the tank, float them in a darkened tank and after releasing wait a miniumum of 20 minutes to turn the lights on.

I've found keeping the lights off is much more important than the order in which fish are introduced..
+1

Lights off is WAY less stressful for them, and you'll see significantly faster recovery times.

·
Registered
823 Posts
I have always taken my betta out of the tank while adding other fish. Otherwise my boys are swimming around the bag/in-tank isolation container, like a shark, curious as to what is inside. If I was a little fish, I would be stressed out from some bigger fish circling me with no place to hide lol. Once everyone is settled in, then I release the betta back into the tank.