Betta Fish Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
Pets: 5 dogs, 4 fish tanks, 2 frogs
366 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi y’all. I am going to be getting a 3 gallon tank this Wednesday or Thursday. I am hoping to make it a little shrimp tank. But I would love suggestions. What are the simplist shrimp to take care of? Are there differences in the difficulty betweeen different shrimp? I was hoping for some blue ones especially.

I will do my more reasearch. But any tips and tricks are definetly appreciated as I have never done this before:

·
Registered
459 Posts
For me the most hardy shrimp that I have had are the Opae Ula, they do need brackish water (1.008 to 1.018) other than that no additional hardware (heater, pump etc) they do really well in a tank with the Marimo Moss Balls too.

·
Registered
6 Bettas, Innumerable Snails, 3 Mice, 2 Hissing roaches
2,919 Posts
I've always kept ghost/glass shrimp. They can get decent sized (a past one was as big as Jalaluddin), and I've heard they're hardier than other species.

I know PetSmart carries them, I believe some locations also have some of the prettier species.

I've found my shrimp ate anything. Fellow (deceased) shrimp, leftover fish food, decaying plant matter, algae wafers.. They're a wonderful cleanup crew. Fluval also makes a shrimp pellet if you're interested.

I would recommend hiding places, and I believe you already keep planted tanks(?) but I'd definitely recommend that for shrimp.

I'm not sure how you acclimate your water critters. But I've found I've had more shrimp handle the process better and last longer afterwards if I do a long acclimation process.
Like, 20 minutes temp. adjusting. Put in a small bit of aquarium water, wait another 20mins. And I slowly add until it gets to about 2/3rds aquarium water, then I scoop them in.

Sorry I started to sort of ramble. Hope this helps somewhat! :LOL:
Happy shrimp hunting! Hope you find ones you like too!

Reactions: betta4ever!

·
Registered