Betta Fish Forum banner

So many questions...

967 views 11 replies 6 participants last post by  Doting Mama 
#1 ·
Hi all, I'm new to keeping fish but in the short amount of time that I've had my Betta, (Noem) I've grown quite attached and only want to make him happy, so a few questions: When I got him he was in a glass block that was far too small and unheated. He's now in a 2.5 Mini Bow tank with charcoal filter (that comes with tank) and it's heated to 80 degrees. Once a week I do a 25% water change and the following week I do a 50% change. Is this enough? Unfortunately, I think Noem is biting his tail fin. (I keep him in my office so he's alone on weekend's) and I notice that the most damage is done over the weekend. I don't believe it is fin rot as I do not see any black or color loss on his fins. Would you agree? Any ideas on how to get him to stop? And lastly, as previously mentioned I'm using the filter that came with the tank - does this need to be baffled? I see Noem hovering in front of the out put as if he enjoys it but other threads state that most Bettas do not like the flow. I've also read that the males make bubble nests and while Noem blows bubbles he hasn't really built a nest. Is this normal? Thanks!!

#2 ·