Betta Fish Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,932 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I don't plan on breeding bettas any time soon but I had a couple of questions pertaining to it.

1. Is breeding and selling bettas profitable in the long run

2. I know that if you breed sibling bettas to much eventually their will be genetic problums but I was wondering why it doesn't cause anything when you first breed a sibling pair of bettas?

3. Is it easier or harder to spawn your fry in say a 40 gallon grow out tank compared to spawning them in 10 gallon breeding tank then moving them into a grow out tank

4. How much on average does it cost to breed bettas. At least for the first time since most of the stuff you most likely wont already have on hand or extra.

5. How long on average does it take to grow your fry to an juvie/adult age.

·
Registered
706 Posts
I'm new to breeding so I can only answer a couple of questions....

3. Most people who breed usually use a five gallon tank. A larger tank does help with the survival of fry. You don't necessarily have to use a tank. A plastic tub or storage container can work as well. I'm using a container I picked up at target. It holds 8 gallons and was very easy to set up. Plus one perk is you can use it to store your breeding supplies when it's empty.

5. Fry usually hatch within about 2 days and learn to swim on their own after 3 days. At that point you'll need to remove the Dad. Bettas usually leave home when they are 2 to 3 months old(8-12 weeks) same age as a puppy. Though some don't leave the breeder until they are six months or even a year. I got my female when she was 2 months old and my male was 6 months when I brought him home.