Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there!

My first betta recently passed away after a nice long life and before I get a new one I would like to upgrade from my 2.5 gallon tank to a 10 gallon that I had already. My plan is to create a heavily planted tank so that I can have a male betta and 3-6 corydoras. I will be starting the planting process next week and then I will wait a month for the tank to cycle before I add any fish.

I am able to use the heater and filter that I already have but I need to upgrade the light situation. The light I ordered is the Aqueon Aquarium Cip-on LED Light for planted tanks. It seems to have good reviews and it was a decent price.

To upgrade my filter I will be adding a pre-filter sponge and Aquaclear A1379A1 20-Gallon Biomax. I have no experience using anything other than sponges in my filters so any advice is appreciated.

For hard scape I collected some rocks from my neighborhood that are currently disinfecting.

As far as plants go I ordered a bundle of various java ferns to hopefully be the bulk of my plants. I already have a 2.5-3 inch moss ball as well as a medium size anubias barteri. I hope this will be enough to moderately fill the space. My local pet store carries a wide variety of plants that I can get to add but the last plant I bought from there gave me serious snail problems... I would also like to try some sort of carpet plant that I might get from that pet store.

Any tips I could get regarding any of these topics would be highly appreciated!

I will update this thread as I proceed :)

Thanks!

·
Registered
179 Posts
Hi! I found that my marimo (they are actually algae) balls didn't like the warmth necessary for my betta's comfort, so they came out and were put into their own vase :). However if you are getting yours to grow and it's already that size, maybe I should just hush up LOL

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3