Betta Fish Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone :) I'm new to fish in general. I had a tank when I was growing up and I didn't know much about caring for them properly as a young child. :oops: I'm now grown and would like to begin again. I have been reading up on the care and requirements for a beautiful betta.

I wonder though, is it okay to set up an empty tank before I choose a fish? I would feel more comfortable setting up the right temp and water conditions without the pressure of a fish needing to live in it right away. Is this weird or unhealthy at all?

·
Registered
8,887 Posts
I usually set-up tanks before I bring bettas home unless it's an impulse buy. Then I will set one up as soon as the new purchase gets home.

In my case it lets me see all my equipment is working properly, and gives me time to get the tank looking how I want it.

If you are doing a fishless cycle, you can have an empty tank set up for as long as a month, as stock are only added once the cycle is complete.

It's not at all unusual or weird in the least.

·
Registered
8,887 Posts
If you just do a google search on fish-in or fishless cycling, a lot of information should crop up. Some forums have detailed stickies outlining cycling and the process of developing an established biological filter so it shouldn't be hard to find.

Generally unless using live stem plants to supplement your filter, it is very hard for anything under around 4-5 gallons to hold a stable cycle. I never bother cycling any of my smaller tanks but just do regular water changes.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Hmm. I'm planning on starting with something smaller like a 2.5 gallon. It seems from your post like that wouldn't work with cycling? I plan to do weekly 50% changes.

Thanks for recommending I just google search it. I wasn't sure if we had a sticky or dedicated thread. You've been a great help so far!

·
Registered
145 Posts