Betta Fish Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to fish so please bear with me, some of these questions may seem trivial. First of all, I'm a college student and this past year space was a prized commodity so when I got my betta, Martin, I got him a 2 gallon tank which is more deep than it is wide. I want to move him into a tank with dimensions more suited to the way he'd naturally swim. He will be coming back to college with me in the fall and I WILL have more room next year so I'm trying to decide between a 2.5 and 5 gallon tank? I like the 5 gallon better but it would also be trickier to transport. What are your thoughts? Should I go for the 5 gallon?

This brings me to my next question, is it at all possible to have 2 tanks going, one at school and one for when I come home over break? So I wouldn't have to transport a bigger tank? Would that stress him out too much? Also any advice on transporting bettas in a way that's as stress-free as possible would be appreciated! I tried a few ways this year and some seemed more stressful than others.

·
Registered
167 Posts
A five gallon would be good, because if you wanted to add one or two extra creatures in there, you can. Plus, bettas like having more room to swim. My boy betta, Charmander, LOVED the 20 gallon I put him in while he stayed over at my boyfriend's place. Also, for summer break, you're going to have to take your aquarium back anyway.

My bettas, when I bought them, came in a tiny cup. I use that to transport them. I've also used 1 gallon jugs (NOT the milk jugs with the handle, they're circular and tall) to transport fish. Some people use tubble wear (which is also good, just be sure to tape around the sides with duct tape because water might leak from the top).