Betta Fish Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
363 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've finally gotten my tax return back, so I can upgrade to a bigger tank and get all the decent equipment it requires! I thought I'd try out this journal thing. I'm going to try to post regularly. I hope you guys enjoy it! I'm still really new at fishkeeping so I would love to hear your thoughts, ideas, tips, things you notice, how my story relates to yours!
Right now, I have one 1.6 gallon tank. I also am attempting a planted 1 gallon bowl; that one is . . . a work in progress.. We call it the Experiment Bowl.

If you haven't seen her picture yet, this is Chadashah. Her name is Hebrew for "new," and she is named that because she marks a new season in my life. The other name you will want to know is E.Joy. She is my roommate and one of my best friends; she is also a great photographer. I'm (not so) secretly hoping that she will be providing lots of pictures for this journal! We call our house Castle; you will probably notice that theme sort of came out in the aquariums . . .

I decided around Christmas that I really wanted a pet, and since The Castle is a rental, the only pet we can have is fish. Luckily, I really enjoyed keeping fish as a kid. So I called up my landlord and asked about getting a one gallon tank, and they said that would be fine.

This is the first lesson I have learned fishkeeping: don't suggest a size to your landlord! Ask them how big of a tank you can have and let them give you the number. When I realized how much too small one gallon was going to be for Chadashah, I gathered up my courage to ask if I could get a five gallon. Turns out, my pet-free property, does in fact allow 5 gallon tanks.