Betta Fish Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, all experienced breeders.
I am not a beginner and successfully bred 10 years ago. But maybe age reduces luck? 😂
I have a complete disaster with my 15th+ attempt at the breeding betta.

I tried 4 different males with 8 different females. 3 different ways to pair them. All for the result of 15 times of failure with absolutely the same outcome. As I have many info and question, it will be a long post, which I will split into sections, depending on the main concern.

1. Timid males, who are afraid of females' approach.
2. Way too aggressive males and females.
3. Not building bubble nest males.

PAIRING: usually I use the following formula as a minimum time for each stage.
① Male establishing his territory in breeding tank = 3h
② Female in the transparent case in the middle of the tank = 36h+ (observing if she shows any interest, increasing the time if not)
③ Female released = up to 72h, if no eggs I stop the attempt.
I am not afraid of fins being damaged, so even if they fight like crazy, as long as both of them are breathing normally and not laying down in catatonic mode, I leave them up to max time.

FOOD (all the time, not only as conditioning): frozen blood warms, alive fruit flies, alive daphnia, frozen and alive brine shrimp, frozen tubeworms (rotated every 1-2 days)