Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought Delta home from the local fish store about a month ago. I'm pretty sure he's bored in his 10G tank all by himself and needs some sort of fishy interaction. I would love to divide his tank and bring home another betta, but I'm working with limited space and funds and the only way to do that would be to divide Delta's current tank. Do you think downgrading him from 10G all by himself to 5G with a neighbor would be mean?

·
Registered
449 Posts
Well, first , he is definitely not lonely and loves being alone, so dont feel bad he has no friends, second, 10 gal is awesome for a betta but also huge, and 5 gal would be just as brilliant. So really it is up to you if you want another fish or not :D

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for your reply, Cinderwolf! =] I'm pretty new to betta-keeping and I've gotten really attached to Delta so I'm hyper-paranoid about messing something up with his tank, haha. But bettas so addicting I definitely want a second one! I'll probably make a DIY divider and bring home the new boy by next week. :D Is there anything I should keep in mind when introducing the new betta to the tank?

·
Registered
449 Posts
You will want to quarantine him, not sure how long, may want to do a forum search about it to find out more. But you want to make sure he is healthy before putting him in the same water was Delta. Other than that, make sure the divider is secure and snug and acclimate him properly and make sure you make the divider high enough they cant jump over it.

Bust I have never had a divided tank before, so I would ask for more opinions or look up stuff about it. But many people do it sucessfully so you will do fine :D

I have been thinking about it, but I only have a 6 gallon, and not a fan of divided tanks, appearance wise, So I resist haha.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #5