Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
697 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am going away this weekend for two days.

This is my first time leaving my betta alone.

I wanted to get you opinion of the weekend food pallets.. is it a good idea to get one?

Also, I have manual light switch that I normally turn off at night. . Do I leave the lights on or off?

Is there anything else should know and do before I go?

·
Registered
5,518 Posts
Don't worry. You could leave your Betta Fish without doing anything. But make sure to do a little Water Change just in case. For the Light, do you need it On?
You could just leave it Off if you don't need it. Betta Fish are Hardy so they'll be fine

·
Registered
188 Posts
Your betta will be perfectly fine for two days without food. :) Seriously, I know it seems crazy, but bettas can go a ridiculously long amount of time without food and it won't even faze them. I've done two-day fasts before and haven't even seen a change in behavior.

Does the room he's kept in have natural lighting? You definitely don't want to be leaving the light on for a full two days (it could stress him out), but if the room he's in will be, like, pitch black while you're away, you might want to consider temporarily moving him somewhere with windows. (Not BESIDE a window, of course, but in the same room as one. :))

·
Registered
87 Posts
I would either not feed for two days, or use a weekend feeder. Your choice.

Leave the lights off. Can the fish get natural light somehow? Like some windows nearby?

·
Registered
697 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
He is in my living room where I have windows and I will be leaving the light outside on the porch on so he will have natural light, although my house is pretty dark, it won't be pitch black.

Thanks for the advice. I will do a water change the day we leave and give him a few flakes just before we depart.

·
Registered
102 Posts