Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My betta has white fuzz on his body, face, and fins. I got him almost 2 days ago. What do I do to save him?

I had a betta fish a few years ago, but I'm now re-entering the world of bettas. So I am still learning. He is in a .5 gallon tank, with new water added one day ago. It is distilled water. He hasn't been eating. I just put some daphnia in and he wasn't interested. His fins are becoming clamped, and he is now just keeps swimming to the top, only to slowly sink to the bottom.

I need to help him, what should I do? Before you mention anything about his tank being too small and stuff like that, know that I can't change it right away so this is what I have to work with.

Thank you in advance for your help!

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Help!

Any help is appreciated! I just added a few drops of Betta water conditioner, since the bottle says that it promotes healing and relieves stress.

·
Registered
2,544 Posts
From what you are describing it sounds like a fungus. Treat him with API Fungus Cure or Jungle Fungus Guard, those medications should be easy to get.

You really shouldn't be using distilled water. It lacks the essential minerals that a betta needs. Tap water will be fine. I suggest using Seachem Prime as a conditioner.

Tank size is a pretty big issue. A 0.5 gallon tank is too small. It requires 100% daily water changes which can be stressful for a fish. A 2.5 gallon tank is considered the bare minimum. You said that you couldn't do anything about that right now but I think you can. I would recommend getting a plastic container like a Rubbermaid, or Sterilte storage box as a temporary home. I think you could even find a suitable one at a dollar store. Just make sure it is new. Even a larger size Critter Keeper could work well as a permanent home. My 2.5 gallon, all-glass hospital tank was under $10.00