Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi guys, I have been treating my betta with ick medicine without success. Can anyone tell what's wrong with him and how can it be treated? Thanks.

Newbie here, my first fish pet, love my betta.

Housing:
How many gallons is your tank? 0.5
Does it have a filter? No
Does it have a heater? No
What temperature is your tank? Don't know
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? No
Does your Betta have tank mates? What kind? No

Food:
What food brand do you use? Betta Safe
Do you feed flakes or pellets? Pallets
Freeze-dried? No
How often do you feed your Betta? How much? 2 times 4 pallets daily

Maintenance:
Before your Betta became ill how often did you perform a water change? Weekly
What percentage of water did you change? 50-70%
What is the source of your water? Tap water dechlorinated naturally for 48 hours and under sunlight.
Do you vacuum the substrate or just dip out water? Tried both.
What additives do you use other than conditioner? What brand of conditioner? Bought betta safe conditional

Water Parameters:
What are your water parameters? Please give exact numbers. If tested by pet store please get exact numbers. "Fine" or "Safe" won't help us help you. Important: Test your water before the regular water change; not after one.

Ammonia: don't know
Nitrite: don't know
Nitrate: don't know
pH:don't know
Hardness (GH):don't know
Alkalinity (KH):don't know

Symptoms and Treatment:
When did you first notice the symptoms? 3 weeks back
How has your Betta’s appearance changed? Some white scales around head and face
How has your Betta’s behavior changed? Not really
Is your Betta still eating? Yes
Have you started treating your Betta? If so, how? Ocean free white spot medicine
Does your Betta have any history of being ill? No
How long have you owned your Betta? 6 weeks
Was he or she ill or suffering some sort of damage when purchased? Don't think so.