Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I've posted these pics before when I introduced him. x) But I'm actually pretty curious as to what kind of betta he is exactly?

I tried looking at the betta colors/species lists but I'm not very good at figuring it out. :cry:

link to pics: http://www.bettafish.com/album.php?albumid=3194

·
Registered
1,782 Posts
I would say a red and pink bi-colored VT

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I would say a red and pink bi-colored VT
Hmmm, so you DO think he's a VT? I wasn't sure, because I didn't think his fins were long enough! Can bettas' fins grow?

·
Registered
4,603 Posts
I'd say he's a VT too. He's stunning!

If you got him from a petshop with cold/dirty water, he may have lost some tail, in which case it may get longer. Sometimes, though, bettas just have different length tails because of genetics. In shows, it can be a fault but show regulations are pretty picky, so it hardly matters. He's gorgeous. :)

·
Registered
735 Posts
He is indeed a VT. xD
How long his fins are doesn't really matter, though he could be young or ecoveing fom fin damage. Their fins continue to grow for a long time, it just slows drastically as they age.

·
Registered
11,653 Posts
Beautiful betta! His fins are not super long, no, but I've had VTs with the same length of fins as yours, without damage or age being a factor. Some bettas have shorter fins, while others have the really long fins. :) Bi-colored, I think. And he is very pretty ^^

·
Registered
1,643 Posts
I say to answer your question "can betta fins grow?" for sure they can! I think yours is a Veil Tail too and my Veil tale boy looked just like yours when I bought him. Now his fins are about 2 and a half inches long!

·
Registered
239 Posts