Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. This is my first time posting here but we are hoping someone can help us with our girl, Ariel who we believe is at death's door.

Short version- Is this velvet?

Long version- Two weeks ago we bought our first fish, Ariel for our daughter's birthday. She was in a tank with 7 or 8 other female Bettas and we noticed they were all snacking on a dead tankmate. At the time, we though nothing of this but we now wonder if she became sick way back then. Her first night home we fed her 5 pellets (we now know this is too much) and she immediately became bloated. The next day she pooped but her belly hadn't gone down.

We cut down to 3-4 pellets a day the next couple of days and she continued to poop a few hours after eating but her belly wouldn't shrink. Next we tried fasting for a day which resulted in no poop and no change to her belly. The next day she ate half a pea, pooped, no change in belly. This has been our pattern for most of the two weeks. We thought maybe she was eggbound so we put her in front of a mirror for a while. She did flare at it but no eggs were dropped.

About a week ago, her poop looked a little whitish so we assumed she had parasites and ordered some Tetra Parasite Guard, 4 days ago we turned off the filter and medicated the tank. By the next morning her activity level was WAY down. She was hiding a lot when normally she is very happy to swim over and greet us and she suddenly was sleeping a ton. She has now gone through two rounds of Parasite Guard with no improvement. If anything, she is worse. The past few days all she does is sleep, sit at the bottom of the tank motionless or (more than anything else) sits at the top of the tank motionless. The only reassuring behavior I am seeing at this point is that she still has an appetite.