Betta Fish Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Super Moderator
21,798 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I thought it would interesting to know when members started keeping Bettas and what drew them to buy a Betta? If you started keeping fish before you bought your first Betta you can add that, too.

Me? I helped my Dad keep tanks with Guppies, Swords and Mollies from the time I was 10. When I graduated high school I saw this most beautiful fish in a department store, Woolworth's, and had to have one. Took some of my graduation $$ and bought my first Betta as a graduation present to me. One had to pick either a red or a blue VT. No other colors or fin types were offered to the general public.

His name was Raymond I. If memory serves, he and the other Raymonds live 6-7 years. Raymond I and II were my college Betta. They lived in two gallon, filterless and heater-less bowls. Neither were available at affordable prices for bowls until the mid-1970s. At some point I added III and IV and had four Betta.

So, that's my start: 61 years with aquariums and 55 almost continuously owning Betta. What was yours?

1. How long ago did you get your first Betta?
2. What drew you to getting a Betta?

·
Registered
Micheal, Betta 6 months, Neon Tetra, 9 Dwarf Gourami 1, False Julii Corydoras
374 Posts
I started when I was 8, I had a 10 gallon. Bettas? About 3-4 years.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Banned
Grim Reaper the Platinum dragon betta
412 Posts
I was 6 and it was a gift it was a blue and aqua but it had no distinct tail type though

·
Premium Member
1,406 Posts