Betta Fish Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just put a new Hydor 25 watt heater in a 5.5 gallon tank. Its been about 4 or 5 hours now. I think I might need to get a new thermometer because mine may or may not be accurate (I'm not sure, it could have been broken when we bought it). I have the temperature set to about 80 degrees and the thermometer says it's about 78 degrees, but the water feels cold to the touch. Sometimes it feels warm though too, especially closer to the filter (which I would expect). Is something wrong?

I'm new to betta fish and fish in general, and this is my first tank.

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,371 Posts
Well one thing you may want to do is put it right next to the filter. So the heat is put everywhere. Also it will feel cool, it usually always does in the summer. When i had my discus tank, 84*f. It would feel cold sometimes. It is just how the skin works.

Also what thermometer is it?
Posted via Mobile Device

·
Registered
1,174 Posts
Depends how warm your house is, I suppose! Remember, your body's temperature sense isn't objective. It can certainly sense changes in temperature, but remember the power being used to a certain temp has over your perception. That kids' science trick with the bowls of hot, cold, and lukewarm water is a good reminder.

Also remember that your own body temp is probably 98F. There's a difference, especially if you like wearing sweaters or hoodies, or if it's summer on your particular hemisphere!

My fish's water feels lukewarm to me, probably because I keep my room pretty warm.

If you're still in doubt, check the water temp with a cooking thermometer briefly... but wash it very well afterwards!

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·